Anywhere...
Anytime...
Anyone...

can become a victim of
violent crime. Each year
the Utah Office of Crime
Victim Reparations
reaches out to thousands
of victims who have
suffered financial loss,
physical injuries and
emotional trauma as a
result of violent crime.

The assistance provided
by this program helps
victims recover and
rebuild their lives.

Phone:
801-238-2360
1-800-621-7444

Fax:
801-533-4127

Address:
350 East 5oo South, Suite 200
Salt Lake City, Utah 84111

Web Site:
www.crimevictim.utah.gov

350 East soo South, Suite 200
Salt Lake City, Utah 84111

For Americans with Disabilities Act Accommodations
please contact the Office of Crime Victim Reparations

al Bo1-238-2360
allowing three working days notice.

AreYou A
Victim Of
A Crime...

FeelingLike
TherelsNoWhere To
GoFor

FinancialHelp?
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UTAH CRIME VICTIM REPARATIONS PROGRAM

Who May Qualify?

* Victims who suffer physical or
psychological injury or death as a direct
result of criminally injurious conduct

Family and dependents of deceased
victims

Representatives acting on behalf

of victims

How Does a Person Qualify?

Victim shall be a resident of Utah or
the criminally injurious conduct shall
have occurred in Utah

Report crime to law enforcement
agency - no conviction is required but
enough information is needed from
law enforcement to substantiate a
crime occurred

Cooperate fully with law enforcement
officials in the investigation and
prosecution of the case

Who Does Not Qualify?

A victim whose own misconduct
contributed to the crime

A victim who sulfered property loss
or damage

A victim engaged in illegal conduct at
the time of the crime

The offender, accomplice or anyone
whose award would unjustly enrich
the offender or accomplice

—
» Anyone who is incarcerated in a penal
institution when the crime occurs

* Anyone in violation of parole or
probation when victimized

How Long Will It Take?

* It can take up to 30 days to determine
if you are eligible for assistance

* Payment will be made when all
required information is received

What Expenses May Be Paid?

* Medical Care
* Dental Care

* Mental Health Counseling

* Funeral and Burial Expenses

* Relocation and Related Costs

* Loss of Earnings

* Loss of Support to Dependents
» Child Care

* Replacement of door locks, windows
or other essential personal property
required for the health and safety of
the victim

Eyeglasses, hearing aids or other
medically necessary devices

What Is The Maximum Award?

Awards can be made up to a
maximum of $25,000

Awards for medical expenses only
incurred as a result of Homicide,
Attempted Homicide, Aggravated
Assault or Driving Under the
Influence may be awarded up

to $50,000

Collateral sources available 1o the
victim such as insurance, Medicaid,
Medicare or Social Security need to
be considered first

How Do | Apply?

Victims, lamily members or legal
guardians must submit an application
form to the Crime Victim Reparations
office

The application form can be obtained
from the CVR oflice, victim advocates,
law enforcement, prosecutors and
other allied agencies

The CVR staff or local victim
assistance programs can help you
complete the application form if
necessary
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